Figure & Motion: Project Journal

April 9th, 2017

Comic .jpg

Comic: This past week and into this weekend, I have planned the layout for my comic panels and have started to draw the scene from my creation myth I want to illustrate for this assignment. I decided that the part in the myth where the bear character transforms into a woman after living in a cave for a hundred days will serve as the focus of my comic. I made decisions on where to place speech bubbles in my comic, as well as what to draw in each panel.

Self-Portrait: For my self-portrait assignment, I am getting ready to take pictures of myself with dynamic lighting, so that I can choose what photo I want to use for my drawing.  

April 11th, 2017

Self-Portrait:

IMG_1070.jpg

For my self-portrait, I narrowed down my photo to one choice. I still have to play around with the photo’s composition, so I might recreate the photo so that the background isn’t as over-powering or I might crop the background out in photoshop.

April 12th, 2017

Comic Pencil.jpg

I scanned my pencil sketch of my comic panel project into the computer, so I can start to digital ink it. I still have to do some cleanup before I start inking it, but this is just a basic idea of how my panels are going to be arranged and how I will illustrate my creation myth.

April 18th, 2017

Self-Portrait:

Self Portrait.jpg

I decided to chose another photo I had taken that didn’t have a black background, so that it didn’t drown out my self-portrait when it came time to draw it and use charcoals. Instead of the composition of the picture looking like me leaning against a wall, I decided to go with the photo that had me looking into the camera with a slightly cheerful expression, as it is a personality trait I wish to express in my self-portrait.

Comic:

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 10.22.24 AM.png

For my comic, I have started to digitally ink my drawing using a Wacom tablet in Photoshop. This allows me to play with different line weights, as well as cleaner lines.

April 20th, 2017

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 10.36.59 AM.png

In class today I was able to digitally outline three of my five panels, leaving me with only two left to finish. Once finished, I will take it into Illustrator to add in the panel lines and speech boxes so that the lines will be perfectly straight.

Self-portrait:

IMG_2638.JPG

For my self-portrait, I have started shading the face and neck. I finished shading and creating the eyes, and plan on working on shading the hair next.

This entry was posted in Non-timedbased and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

